Author Topic: 1st Vice Presidents Report  (Read 2861 times)

Rosanne Humes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
1st Vice Presidents Report
« on: March 06, 2012, 09:43:20 AM »

Call for nominations

On Feb. 2nd I sent a Call for nominations to the SUNYLA community for three open executive board positions: 1st Vice President/President Elect; 2nd Vice President; and Secretary. The deadline for nominations was March 1st. The slate for 2012/2013 is as follows: 1st Vice President/President Elect – Sarah Morehouse, Empire State College; 2nd Vice President – Mark McBride, Buffalo State; Secretary – Carleen Huxley, SUNY Jefferson.


METRO meeting

On Feb 14 I attended the Regional Professional Leadership Network Meeting, sponsored by the Metropolitan New York Library Council (METRO). METRO is one of the nine regional 3Rs Councils. Ten local library groups attended the meeting: METRO; LACUNY; Archivists Roundtable of NY; SUNYLA; ACRL/NY; Medical Library Assoc. NY/NJ; American Society for Information Science & Technology; NY Technical Services Librarians; New York Library Club; and SLA/NY.

The focus of the meeting was collaboration. Metro introduced the “Community Partners Program.” The purpose of the program is to further existing relationships between METRO and local and regional organizations and to encourage collaboration and sharing of assets toward the mutual benefit of all organizations. The benefits of joining – being listed as a community partner on METROs webpage (with a link to our website); co-hosting events; a free membership for one leader in our organization.

At the meeting I encouraged all groups to sign up for a table at the SUNYLA conference.


Call for host for 2013 conference

On March 1st I put out a call looking for a 2013 host campus for the SUNYLA conference. So far, they has been no interest. At Mark McBride’s suggestion I’m working on a ‘check list’ of host campus requirements. When this is finished, we plan to add it to the SUNYLA website.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2012, 11:55:31 AM by Rosanne Humes »