Author Topic: Professional Development Committee Report  (Read 403 times)

Logan Rath

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Professional Development Committee Report
« on: March 24, 2023, 09:40:06 AM »
Logan met with Cori Wilhelm who is looking to put some professional development in place for librarians. She will be conducting a needs assessment soon. We discussed the importance of keeping things low cost. If you have any ideas for professional development, please reach out to Logan at or Cori Wilhelm at

The SUNYLA Professional Development Grants Subcommittee recently awarded $750 to Anne C. Deutsch from SUNY New Paltz.  She will be facilitating a workshop at the 2023 WILU Conference in Montreal this May.

The committee has submitted a proposal for SUNYLA. They are coordinating with PPC to make sure they aren't doubling up on questions on their work.

Jocelyn received another request from a library school student looking for a mentor. She matched her up with one of our volunteers that mirrored her interests. If you are interested in being a mentor to a new librarian or library school student, please fill out the mentor profile form. If you have already submitted a mentor profile, you don’t need to do it again. I plan on reaching out to everyone that submitted a mentor profile in the next month or so to verify they are still interested and their information is accurate. So far, archives/special collections and cataloging have been some of the most popular mentoring needs. More information about the mentoring program can be found at:
The first call for nominations for the Mentor Award has gone out. The deadline for nominations is May 19, 2023. The award is $250/per recipient and winners are announced during the Annual Conference luncheon. Nomination letters can be sent to Jocelyn Ireland at

SUNYLA Mentor Award criteria
Mentorship support of one or more SUNYLA members to reach professional goals within a SUNY library.
Nominators must be a current SUNYLA member in good standing for at least 2 years.
Award recipients do not need to be SUNYLA members.
A nomination letter highlighting the nominee’s mentoring activities and how they have made an impact for at least one SUNYLA member’s library career.

Rebecca Hewitt currently has 3 people on her committee to help review the award. Expect a call for nominations soon!

Hi all!

The Professional Development Committee of the State University of New York Librarian’s Association seeks nominations for the 2023 Friend of SUNYLA award. The award is given to individuals or organizations that actively contribute to furthering the goals of SUNYLA and of SUNY libraries.

The criteria for the award are as follows:

Exceptional leadership in projects and initiatives that further the goals of SUNYLA and of SUNY libraries.
Members of SUNYLA will be considered based on their involvement in the organization in areas such as holding an office or providing exceptional leadership as committee chairs.
Library administrators will be considered based on their collaboration with librarians, their creativity, and their openness to new initiatives that further the goals of SUNYLA and of SUNY libraries.
Candidates from the public-at-large will be considered based on their collaboration with SUNYLA, their understanding of the mission of SUNY libraries, and their efforts to improve the quality of library services across SUNY.
Professional organizations as well as publishers, vendors, and other library-related commercial organizations will be considered given their active support of and collaboration with SUNYLA and SUNY libraries.
The SUNYLA Executive Board will review nominations and will select the recipient prior to the annual conference. The award will be given during the 54rd Annual Conference hosted by SUNY Maritime College.

Past recipients include: Judith Adams-Volpe, Mary Beilby, Sandy Card, Eleanor Carter, Ginette Chambers, Anne Commerton, Raney Ellis, Faculty Access to Computing Technology (FACT), Christine Haile, David Kreh, the New York State Library Assistants Association (NYSLAA), Andrew Perry, John Philippo, Janet Potter, Natalie Sturr, Ed Sullivan, Maureen Zajkowski, Wilfred Drew, the Office of Library and Information Services (OLIS), Carol Anne Germain, the SUNYConnect Advisory Council, Ed Rivenburgh, Gerald Leibowitz, Kim Davies Hoffman, NJ Wolfe, Nancy Williamson, Mark Smith, John Schumacher, Logan Rath, Dave Ritchie, Cerise Oberman, Rosanne Humes, EBSCO, April Davies, Rebecca Hyams, Shannon Pritting, Curtis Kendrick, and Bill Jones.

Please email a statement of your nominee’s achievements as they specifically address the above criteria no later than May 7, 2023 to:

Greg Bobish
University at Albany